Get the NYFW Nail Looks With What You Already Have

First – My L’Oreal Star Magnet Fail! I mean big time! I was so bummed! The magnet has demagnetized! WHAAA! Seriously! Come on! So I grabbed some other magnets I had available of varying strengths and sizes. Well too strong a magnet pools all the color to one side of the nail like a black blob. A tiny not too strong magnet gave me some inconsistent lines. I am going to play around with this one a little more ans see if there are any other ways I can make this work. Here is a quick snapshot of what I ended up with.


Now on to NY Fashion week. I spent some time this weekend looking at the nail fashion of NY Fashion Week. (online of course, since I am not one of the lucky few who gets to attend these amazing events) Of course I checked out the fashion as well, but I really wanted to see what we had to look forward to for fall nails. Yes I know we haven’t even hit spring yet, but I still couldn’t wait to see what was in store for us.

Overall I have to say I only saw a few really amazing things, like the CND nails at the Ruffian show, but those are metallic tips that were then partially painted to show a metallic crescent at the base of the nail and the rest of the nail was matte black. I can’t wait to re-create this look with polish. Cushie et Ochs’s had black polish with metal shrapnel looking designs on the nails, which I envision replicating with polish and foil. Then there was Luca Luca with Black on Bottom and Red on top. I can’t wait to see more reviews, I am hoping I missed some more amazingness.

Now for those looks that I think I could re-create at home with what I had. They may not be exact matches, but close enough to me for now. Of course I think some of these polishes will be making their way to my collection anyway.

DKNY featured KnockOut Nails in Pool, Concrete, Plaster and a yet to be released color called Sher. Both Pool & Sher were adjusted for a more blue look for pool and a more peach look for Sher. Here is my take on these with what I already own.

Here I used OPI No Room For the Blues. Pool seems to be more of a baby blue color, but since the look for the runway show was adjusted for a more blue look, I came up with this for my version. I layered this with CHg Matte Magic top coat.
For the Grey, I used RBL Stormy layered with Nubar’s For Men Matte Top Coat.

Here I used RBL Square Pants and Starfish Patrick with Nubar’s For Men Matte top coat.

Thakoon, Behnaz Sarafpour, Adam Lippes & More continued with the Mannequin hand trend, some even mattifying the color. For me to get manniquin hands I had to layer OPI Dulce de Leche with 1 coat of Nubar Nudite on top. Then to mattify I used CHg Matte Magic top coat.

Peter Som featured Zoya Charity – which I will definitely be getting, however here I frankened a polish using 1/2 RBL Stormy and 1/2 Ulta Devious. I am LOVING this franken too. Maybe because I have a thing for purples?

There were some more looks I haven’t covered here, so look for a part II to this one soon.

By the way as I write this, I am at 48 followers! Wow in 2 weeks – not bad! (I think). That means the contest will be starting real soon! Keep your eyes peeled for entry details! I hope you are all enjoying my blog. Feel free to email me your ideas, thoughts and suggestions on making this blog better. I have enjoyed getting to know many of you over the last two weeks and look forward to getting to know many more of you in the future.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

