Longest Post EVER! Skip to the bottom if you just want nails.

 After having three kids, I had packed on some pounds, which for me was a good thing considering when I got married I weighed 94 lbs. Yup you read that right – 94 lbs. (I’m about 5′ 3″) I used to hate how skinny I was. Fortunately for me, even though I was skinny I had a curvaceous shape to my body. But let’s face it 94 lbs is 94 lbs. It is way to small for any adult woman. I wanted some weight on me. I proceeded to gain almost 80 lbs with my first pregnancy. I remember distinctly them weighing me when I walked into the hospital in labor and they put me on a scale and it reading 173 lbs. WHAT?!? How the heck did that happen? In a mere 9 months I had managed to pack on almost 80 lbs! Probably because I ate with abandon. I mean I really ate. A whole watermelon in one sitting and half a bag of Oreos in the next.
After having my first daughter, most of the weight came off. I probably got down to about 120 lbs or so fairly quickly without even really trying. I was hoping to lose 10 more lbs – but again I wasn’t even trying or really worrying about it at the time. Then the second pregnancy came and so did another 70 lbs. After the second one, I had trouble losing the weight. I weighed around 155lbs for a long time and then I got sick. And I mean sick – I got strep and an ear infection in both ears. But because I let it go for so long before going to the doctor’s, I had lost a ton of weight because eatting hurt. Over a 3 month period without trying, I went from a size 13 to a size 8. Just like that. I wasn’t in the habit of weighing myself, so I have no idea how much I weighed. But then I got pregnant again.
I gained under 30lbs with this one, but that put me right back to 157 lbs. After I had her, the weight did not come off as easy. I was tired. Then I decided it was time to go back to school. This meant 3 kids under 5, a full time job and school full time. Now the weight started to come off, but not really. I got down to a size 6, which isn’t bad at all. Heck I was happy with an 8. What I wasn’t happy with is the way I ate and the way I felt and frankly while the size 8 didn’t bother me, the jigglyness did. Lifting a gallon of milk was heavy. How did this happen? I knew I needed to do something. Things were getting out of control.
I started working out. I started slow. I started with walking every day. We bought the Book Eatting For Life and started changing the way we ate in the house. Then a friend mentioned doing the Firm workouts and she looked, well,  firm, so I gave them a try. I was hooked! HOOKED! I loved the Firm. I was so into working out, I was so fit. I was doing the Manitou Springs Incline on the weekends with a friend for fun. Hiking up a trail of rail road ties and then once reaching the top running the switchbacks all the way down.
Here is a few shots of the incline to give you perspective. The first picture is a map. The straight line in red is up the mountain and the crazy red lines is the run back down the switchbacks. The second picture shows the incline and the last picture is a closeup of what you are hiking up. I would do this for FUN people! That is how fit I got!
So why am I telling you all this? Because today I sit here at about 125 lbs and completely unfit. I reverted back to my old ways. You see we lived in Colorado for 10 years. I imagined my husband’s military career meant that we would see the world, not stay in one state forever. So not the case for us. Now I have to say I love Colorado and I actually miss it there. But and it is a big but – it snows there and there is no beach. Hello – I am Puerto Rican! I need the heat and the beach near by! Did the military not get the memo? If I wanted to go to the beach I had to fly there! SO I begged my husband to get an assigment out of Colorado. To please do whatever it would take – just get us close to the water! He actually managed to get us to Virginia. I don’t care to say where in VA – except to say it was the middle of no where. We were closer to the beach – but it was still a 2 hour drive. I hated it there. I didn’t fit in. I think I actually became depressed. I completely stopped working out. COMPLETELY! Then my husband got an assignment to Greenland. He had to leave us for a year. Working out was the last thing on my mind!
While my husband was gone I made the decision that I would not wait for him in VA. His follow on assignment from Greenland was in Sunny FL and I could feel it in my bones that this is where I was meant to be. So I packed up the family once the school year ended for my kids and went to FL. Juan was able to come home and help with the move – he had a two week break so it wasn’t so hard. But then he had to go back to Greenland and I was in this new place all alone. It wasn’t so bad actually since I had a cousin who lives 45 minutes away. And the beach – well that was right across the street. YAY!
I am so happy here, but trying to get back into working out after being so lazy for so long is hard. We were in VA for 4 years. 4 LONG years! (Although I did make some great friends there that I miss – but other than that – the place we lived is not for me). Now we have been in FL for over a year (Almost 2 actually) – I need to get my act together. I finally decided that I needed to start working out again. I miss my former self. So I started walking and doing the Firm again. I started on Saturday of this last weekend. So far so good. But I hit a little bump yesterday. I got home from work and decided to walk the beach. We all went to the beach and while the family had fun in the sun, I broke out in a sweat walking fast down the beach. I did 3.6 miles – not bad! I was impressed. Except I walked it barefoot. Now I have blisters on the bottom of my feet and it hurts to walk! OUCH! But I came home and threw in a Firm video and did my workout through the pain. I feel good – but I am dreading walking anywhere today! I don’t know how I am going to manage – it really hurts!
I don’t want to wear sneakers while I walk on the beach – but apparently I am going to have to do that. And in spite of the pain in my feet right now – I feel really good. I feel my old self coming back. It has only been 5 days – but I feel good! I don’t want this feeling to stop. I think I am finally on track again. 
SO why am I writing all this? Well because I feel by putting it out there – I am making the commitment real. I am including all of you in my journey. So let’s log off the computer, put the remotes down and get out there and get fit. It isn’t about losing weight for me. It is about getting fit. It is about finding a passion I lost and bringing it back to life. And now it is out there for the world to know. I will occasionally share my progress with you, and I felt that you needed that background for when I do bring it up. Now you have the history. Now you share in my journey. Heck if you have fitness goals – join me!
Now for the NOTD. Color Club With Abandon. black with green/gold glitter. Amazing in two coats. Love this color!
This entry was posted in Color Club With Abandon. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

